What each organisation asks for#
Most organisations ask for the same thing: the document that changed your name, so they can see your old name and your new one linked. What differs is the form they want it in, and whether they want something else beside it. HM Passport Office and DVLA want originals, which they return. Most banks, pensions, employers and regulators take a certified copy, and a growing number accept a scan or a photo in an app. A few banks and building societies accept an unenrolled deed poll only alongside a passport or driving licence already in the new name.
Each table below is built from the "At a glance" summary at the top of that organisation's guide, which is written from the organisation's own published process and dated. Open a guide for the detail: the form, the address, what happens next and any rule of its own. Where a cell says "See the guide", the organisation does not publish that point in a way that fits a single line.
Government and public services#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Child Benefit (HMRC) | Your change of name, and your child's if they change theirs by deed poll | Nothing to send unless HMRC asks you to confirm your details | Through HMRC's change of details service, online or in the HMRC app |
| Companies House | The officer's new name, filed for the company | No document is filed; the deed poll stays with you | Online with WebFiling, or paper form CH01 (director) or CH03 (secretary) |
| Councils and rail operators | Proof of the change; most take a deed poll, but Railcards name only an enrolled one or a marriage certificate | Copies: scans or photocopies to councils and London Councils, and a copy by email for an online Railcard | Your council for a Blue Badge; your council or transport scheme for a bus pass; London Councils for a Freedom Pass; Railcard customer services for a Railcard |
| DVLA: driving licence | Form D1 or D2, your current licence, the original deed poll or certificate and, with a deed poll, one document in the new name | Original: GOV.UK says do not send photocopies or laminated certificates | By post to DVLA, Swansea; not online |
| DVLA: log book | The whole log book with the new name in section 3, a letter explaining why, and proof of the change | Proof of the name change, such as a deed poll; not needed for marriage, divorce or a spelling mistake | By post only, to the DVLA address printed in section 3 |
| Department for Work and Pensions | See the guide | Ask in your journal or by phone whether they want to see the deed poll | See the guide |
| Department for Work and Pensions (PIP) | Your new name, reported straight away; GOV.UK, mygov.scot and nidirect list no documents for it | Not stated; keep your deed poll or certificate to hand in case you are asked | England and Wales: the PIP enquiry line, by phone. Scotland: Social Security Scotland, online or by phone. Northern Ireland: the PIP Centre |
| Disclosure and Barring Service | Every name you have used since birth, with dates, on each new application | Show your deed poll at the identity check; an employer must see your original certificate | Through the employer or organisation that asks for the check |
| GOV.UK One Login | See the guide | See the guide | See the guide |
| HM Land Registry | Form AP1 with the document that links your old and new names | Send a certified copy: HM Land Registry scans what it is sent and then destroys it, unless it is a cherished document such as a birth certificate | By post to HM Land Registry's Citizen Centre, or through a conveyancer |
| HM Passport Office | The original deed poll and one document showing the new name in use | The original; it is posted back separately | Online at GOV.UK, or on a paper form from a Post Office with Check and Send |
| HM Revenue and Customs | Your new name, reported through your HMRC online account or the HMRC app | Nothing to send unless HMRC asks you to confirm your details | Online, with your sign-in details; you can create them if you have none |
| NHS | Your new name, given to your GP practice; each practice sets its own rule on evidence | The practice decides; take your deed poll or marriage certificate with you | Through your GP practice, not the NHS App |
| NHS Business Services Authority (Overseas Healthcare Services) | A copy of your deed poll and a valid passport, or of your marriage certificate, or of your final order or decree absolute | A copy, sent by email or social media | Email nhsbsa.ghicapplicationsohs@nhsbsa.nhs.uk; for a UK EHIC, nhsbsa.ehicapplicationsohs@nhsbsa.nhs.uk |
| Office of the Public Guardian | A copy of the marriage certificate or deed poll that shows the new name | A copy: GOV.UK says do not send any original documents | By email or post to the Office of the Public Guardian, quoting the LPA reference number |
| Register to vote (GOV.UK) | A new registration in your new name, online | No documents; your National Insurance number is used to check you | The register to vote service on GOV.UK, about five minutes |
| Registers of Scotland | Scotland: evidence linking your old and new names to the property, such as a solicitor's letter or a statutory declaration. Northern Ireland: form 100A and a solicitor's certificate | Scotland: uploads, as PDF, JPEG, PNG or GIF files. Northern Ireland: a copy of your marriage certificate or deed poll, attached to the solicitor's certificate | Scotland: online, through the Public Title Inaccuracy Enquiry service. Northern Ireland: by post; not online |
| TV Licensing | Your licence number, the surname now on the licence and the licensed postcode | Neither: TV Licensing's FAQ mentions no documents | Online, through Update your details |
| The Driver & Vehicle Agency (DVA) | Form DL1 (DL2 for a lorry or bus licence), both parts of your licence and original evidence of your new name | Originals: nidirect rules out photocopies, laminated certificates and certified copies | By post to DVA Driver Licensing in Coleraine; a change of name cannot be made online |
| UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) | An identity document in your new name, such as your passport or national identity card | Nothing to post: the change is made online, in your UKVI account | GOV.UK's online update service, once your own country has issued a passport or identity card in the new name |
| Your local council | Your old and new names, your address and the account number on your bill; some councils also ask for a copy of the deed poll | A copy, scan or photo where one is asked for; Leeds says do not post originals | Your council's online form or account, found through GOV.UK from your postcode |
| Your police force's firearms licensing department | Your new name, given with the details already on your certificate; no force we checked lists the evidence it wants | Not stated; have your deed poll or marriage certificate ready in case the licensing team asks | An online update form at many forces in England and Wales; elsewhere, the force's firearms licensing team |
Banks and building societies#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Express: | Its Name Change Request Form, with a deed poll, a marriage or civil union certificate, or a divorce certificate | A photocopy or scanned image; never the original | Upload to the Document Centre (an online account is needed), or post to Brighton |
| American Express: credit cards | The document that changed your name; MBNA takes an unenrolled deed poll only with a driving licence or UK or EU passport in the new name | A photocopy or scan for American Express and Capital One; the original or a certified copy for Tesco Bank and MBNA; a certified copy for Virgin Money | American Express: its form, uploaded or posted. MBNA: its iPhone app or a form. The others: a letter |
| Bank of Scotland | One document from its list: a marriage or civil partnership certificate, a statutory declaration, or an unenrolled deed poll with a driving licence or UK or EU passport in the new name | Originals or certified copies; originals are returned, certified copies only if you ask | The app (not yet on Android), or a form printed from online banking, taken to a branch or posted to Leeds |
| Barclays | A deed poll, marriage certificate or decree absolute for a new surname; photo ID in the new name for a new first or middle name | Originals at a branch appointment; certified copies by post, never originals | A branch appointment, or by post to Barclays, Leicester, LE87 2BB, with certified copies |
| Chase UK | One to three documents from its list, such as a marriage certificate, a passport, a driving licence or an enrolled deed poll | Uploaded in the app's chat with the paper clip icon; Chase asks for nothing by post | In the app: Profile, Personal details, then Edit next to your name |
| Coventry Building Society | A marriage or civil partnership certificate, or a deed poll; an unenrolled deed poll needs ID in your new name with it | Originals or certified copies, certified by someone on Coventry's list; no photographs or internet printouts | A branch, or the change of name form by post, with no stamp needed |
| Danske Bank | A copy of the document confirming your new name, such as a marriage certificate, divorce papers or an enrolled deed poll | A clear colour photo by secure message; in a branch, the document itself with photo ID | A secure message in the Mobile Banking app or eBanking, or a branch |
| Experian, Equifax and TransUnion | Your lenders' records first; then Experian takes the new name in your account, and Equifax wants a copy of your deed poll or marriage certificate | A copy: Equifax asks you not to send originals | Experian: your free account. Equifax: a form in its online help, or by post. TransUnion: through your lenders, then its contact or dispute routes |
| HSBC | Proof of the change, such as a witnessed deed poll or a marriage certificate, and proof of your previous name | You take the documents to a branch; HSBC's page does not mention copies or post | In a branch only: not in the app or Online Banking, and there is no form |
| Halifax | After marriage, the certificate alone; with a deed poll, an enrolled one, or an unenrolled one plus a valid UK or EU passport or driving licence in your new name | In a branch, the original, Halifax's mortgage page says; by post, the original or a certified copy, and originals are returned | The form from Online Banking, posted to Halifax, The Green Building, Leeds, LS78 1LB, or taken to a branch; or the app on an iPhone |
| Lloyds Bank | A marriage certificate or civil partnership document, a statutory declaration, an enrolled deed poll, or an unenrolled deed poll with a driving licence or UK or EU passport in the new name | Originals or certified copies; originals are returned, certified copies only if you ask | The app (not yet on Android), or a form printed from online banking, taken to a branch or posted to Leeds |
| Monzo | Some form of ID: a deed poll, a marriage certificate, or a driving licence or passport in the new name | Shown to Monzo through the chat in the app; its page asks for nothing by post | In the app: Help, search "Changing your name", then Get in touch |
| NatWest | A deed poll, registered or not, or a statutory declaration; for marriage or civil partnership, the certificate | In the app, an image sent by email; in a branch, you bring the documents | The app, Telephone Banking or a branch |
| Nationwide | One document from its list: an enrolled deed poll alone, or an unenrolled one with one more item of ID in your old or new name | In a branch, the original or a certified copy; by post, certified copies only; never a photocopy | A branch, or the change of name form posted to Nationwide Building Society, Swindon, SN38 1NW |
| Revolut | A government-issued ID in the new name; the app shows which types it accepts | A photo of the original, taken in the app; its identity pages rule out copies, scans and screens | In the app: profile icon, Account, Personal details, then tap your name |
| Royal Bank of Scotland | A deed poll, enrolled or not, or a statutory declaration; after marriage or civil partnership, the certificate | In the app, an image sent by email; in a branch, the documents themselves, with photo ID and your debit card | The app, Telephone Banking or a branch |
| Santander | ID, proof the account is yours, and one document proving the change; an unenrolled deed poll only with ID in the new name | Not stated for a branch; you show the documents in person | A branch visit; the app and Online Banking change contact details, not names |
| Skipton Building Society | A marriage certificate; an enrolled deed poll; a "simple deed poll certified by a solicitor" with ID; or a passport or licence in the new name | "Original or solicitor certified copies only" | The change of name form, in a branch or by post to Skipton Building Society, The Bailey, Skipton, North Yorkshire BD23 1DN |
| Starling Bank | One document: a deed poll, a marriage certificate or a divorce certificate | Attached to a message in the app; Starling's pages ask for nothing by post | In the app: Help, Talk to Starling, Start a new conversation, I need to get in touch, Send a message |
| TSB | One document, such as a marriage certificate or an enrolled deed poll; an unenrolled deed poll only with proof you use the new name | Uploaded in the app, with certified copies of any extra document; shown in person in a branch | A chat in the TSB app, or a branch, ideally with an appointment |
| Tesco Bank | A letter with your old and new signatures, and your deed poll, marriage certificate or decree absolute | A deed poll as the original or a certified copy; your document comes back the way you sent it | By post, to the address for one of your products; the app and Online Banking do not change a name |
| The Co-operative Bank | A deed poll, a marriage certificate or a decree absolute, with examples of your old and new signatures | An original or a certified copy; the Co-op returns what you send | By post to The Co-operative Bank, PO Box 4931, Swindon, SN4 4PL, or at a branch |
| Ulster Bank | A deed poll, enrolled or not, or a statutory declaration; after marriage or civil partnership, the certificate | In the app, an image sent by email; in a branch, the documents themselves, with photo ID and your debit card | The app, Telephone Banking or a branch |
| Virgin Money | A marriage certificate, decree absolute or deed poll; for savings, your birth or marriage certificate as well, for the old name | Originals for your accounts, returned by post; a certified copy for a credit card; either for a mortgage | A branch, or a form, for current and savings accounts; a letter for a credit card; a form for a mortgage |
| Yorkshire Building Society | One document from its list; an unenrolled deed poll only "along with driving licence or passport showing the new name" | Originals in a branch or agency; by post, photocopies of anything with a photo or signature, never photographs | A branch or agency, or a call; the online account does not change a name |
Pensions, savings and investments#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aviva | Your old and new names, the date and reason for the change and your policy number; proof only if its electronic check fails | Nothing to send at first; if proof is needed, Aviva says it will tell you what it needs to see | Online forms for pensions, annuities and life policies; MyAviva for home and motor policies bought directly |
| Computershare | Computershare: its Change of Name form. Equiniti: a signed letter. Both want the document that changed your name | The original or a certified copy; Computershare accepts a copy only if a solicitor or notary public certified it | By post, to Computershare in Bristol or Equiniti in Worthing; neither changes a name online |
| NHS Pensions (NHS Business Services Authority) | The deed poll, or a marriage or civil partnership certificate, a decree absolute or dissolution order, or a birth certificate for an earlier surname | Pensioners: originals, or copies certified and stamped by a solicitor | Still working: your employer. Left: contact NHS Pensions. Drawing the pension: by post |
| NS&I | Its change of details paper form, or a letter with your old and new names and both signatures | A signed form or letter; keep your deed poll in case NS&I asks for it | By post; not online |
| Nest | Evidence, if Nest asks for it; its public help page does not list the documents | An upload or a Nest mailbox message is faster; posted originals come back the way you sent them | Online: Edit personal details on your dashboard, then Edit next to your name |
| The Pension Service | The change of name, reported by phone or post; GOV.UK lists no documents for it | GOV.UK does not say; keep the deed poll or certificate to hand in case you are asked | By phone, or by post to The Pension Service, Post Handling Site A, Wolverhampton WV98 1AF |
Work and pay#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Changing your name in the armed forces | The document that changed your name: a deed poll, or a marriage or civil partnership certificate | Not published for unit HR; the preserved pension claim form asks for copies, never originals | Serving: through your unit HR staff, onto JPA. Cleared: a change of circumstances form to UKSV. Left: Equiniti or Veterans UK |
| GOV.UK | Your deed poll, or the certificate that changed your name; each employer sets its own rules | Your employer decides; a manual right to work check is made from original documents | Through HR or payroll, in the way your employer asks |
Education and student finance#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOV.UK | Usually nothing: a certificate keeps the name you sat the exams or graduated in | Show the certificate with your deed poll, or a certified copy of the deed | See the guide |
| Student Finance England | A signed, dated letter or form, with evidence such as your deed poll or marriage certificate | England: a clear photocopy, uploaded. Scotland: a copy, emailed with the form. Wales and Northern Ireland do not say | Your online account in England, Wales and Northern Ireland; SAAS's form by email |
Professional regulators#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Medical Council | Form RSU2, with the evidence its table lists for your kind of change | Scans or copies, attached to one email as PDF, DOC, JPEG, BMP or PNG files | By email from your registered email address; not in GMC Online |
| Health and Care Professions Council | Your new name and uploaded evidence, such as a marriage certificate or deed poll documentation | An upload in your online account; nothing is posted | Online account: My Details, then Update Personal Details, then Name |
| Nursing and Midwifery Council | Your new name and title, a copy of an official document confirming the change, and a referee if it asks for one | A copy, uploaded as a PDF, GIF, PNG or JPG file; the NMC's page does not mention certification | Online, in your MyNMC account |
Energy, water, phone and broadband#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Gas | Its help pages list no document for a change of name | See the guide | Live Chat; your online account shows your name but sends you to Live Chat to change it |
| EDF | Its help pages list no document for a change of name | Not published, as no document is listed | Get in touch by text, email or phone; MyAccount changes your email and contact details but not your name |
| EE | One legal document: your deed poll, a marriage or civil partnership certificate, or a decree absolute | A scan or photo by email; EE does not say whether documents sent by post come back | Email, post with a covering letter, or an EE store |
| O2 | One document: a deed poll, a marriage or civil partnership certificate, or a Scottish birth certificate reissued to show both names | An upload in My O2; nothing to post | My O2: Manage details, then Edit your name |
| OVO | Documents to confirm the change, such as a marriage certificate, say OVO staff on its forum | Not published | OVO's support team; your name cannot be changed in the online account or app |
| Octopus Energy | Its help pages list no document for a change of name | Not published, as no document is listed | Get in touch, by email or through its contact page; your online account handles passwords and preferences, not your name |
| Sky | For a deed poll, two documents: one in your previous name and one in your new name, both showing your current address | Not published: Sky's page does not say how to send the documents | Contact Sky; a new surname or title after marriage or divorce is changed over the phone, without proof |
| TalkTalk | The change of name form, with ID that includes proof of your change of name, for example a deed poll or marriage certificate | Copies only: TalkTalk says it will not return your documents | The form from My Account, or the change of name process in the TalkTalk app |
| Three | A copy of one document: your deed poll, a marriage or civil partnership certificate, or a decree absolute | A copy, with a covering letter asking for the change | Pay monthly: by post to Three Customer Services, PO Box 333, Glasgow, G2 9AG. Pay as you go: contact Three |
| Virgin Media | The Change of Details Form and a copy of your deed poll, or of a marriage or civil partnership certificate | A copy: the form asks for copies, not originals, which Virgin Media cannot return | By email to namechange@virginmedia.co.uk, or by post |
| Vodafone | A photo or scan of your deed poll, or of a marriage or civil partnership certificate or decree absolute | A clear photo or scan, uploaded with the form; nothing to post | Vodafone's online name change form |
Online accounts and travel#
| Organisation | What it asks for | Original or copy | How to tell it |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Airways | See the guide | See the guide | See the guide |
| PayPal | For a legal or major change, possibly supporting documents "like a valid photo ID"; PayPal's pages do not mention a deed poll | Photos of the document, front and back, uploaded | Settings, then Change name, on PayPal's website |
In what order to tell them#
Start with an organisation that will put your new name in writing quickly, such as HMRC, your employer or your council, because HM Passport Office and DVLA both want a document showing the new name in use. Then the passport and the driving licence, one at a time, since each keeps the original while it works. Then everyone else, in any order, with certified copies where they are accepted. Who to tell, and in what order has the full sequence.
Questions people ask
Which organisations need the original deed poll?
HM Passport Office and DVLA ask for original documents and send them back; GOV.UK says not to send DVLA photocopies. Most others accept a certified copy, and many take a scan or a photo in an app or by email.
Which organisations want a passport or driving licence in my new name first?
Several banks and building societies do when the deed poll is not enrolled, among them Lloyds, Halifax, Bank of Scotland, Santander, TSB, Coventry and Yorkshire. Banks compared and the bank checker set out each one.
How many certified copies will I need?
One for each organisation that wants a copy by post at the same time, as the tables show. How many certified copies do I need? works it through, and the copies calculator counts them for your own list.
Something else? Ask us, and a person replies by email, normally the same working day.



